The Lilliputian Bazaar

On Facebook, I follow Old Images of New York (a super awesome page, BTW, go check it out), mostly because I love the history of the city and because it’s nice to see it again – I lived there for a year and a half.

This morning, I was excited to see this photograph on the page, ca. 1905 – I don’t know where it’s from, so I have no provenance. It’s of West 23rd street, and I lived on West 21st – so I was geeking out a little over that. I have walked down 23rd hundreds of times, so I’m sure I passed either these buildings, or where they stood.

11043180_10206311999623420_6518547183998743040_n

Then I saw this …

11058402_10206311988583144_7620236953781438336_n 2

Best & Co! The Lilliputian Bazaar! The one that advertised in my New York Daily Tribune from November 9, 1887!1

How to Clothe the Children. BEST & CO LILLIPUTIAN BAZAAR. Considering the Assortment, Styles, and our Low Prices, there is no other place where BOYS and GIRLS can be fitted out as well with everything from HATS to SHOES. Our Stock of OVERCOATS FOR BOYS and CLOAKS FOR GIRLS AND INFANTS is particularly attractive. We include Youth’s and Misses’ Sizes up to 18 Years. 60 & 62 West 23d-st.

Yay! Feels like I just matched two puzzle pieces together.

About Amanda Goebel

I'm an Anthropology / Fashion History and Material Culture graduate from The University of Delaware, currently working on a Master's in Museum Studies. I'm a living historian interested in costume and culture from years before. I love researching the mundane and the everyday that has changed or disappeared since. I re-enact the 18th century, and I recreate clothing from that time. This blog is where I'll write about my research and projects. View all posts by Amanda Goebel

Leave a Reply

