19th century newspapers

DSCN9921

We had a beautiful snowfall today! Before I went outside to enjoy it, I spent a few hours inside, looking through some old newspapers.

DSCN9908

J. Russell’s Gazette, Commercial and Political, for Monday, July 22, 1799. Most of the ads here are from the MD/VA/PA area, Philadelphia and Washington.

DSCN9903

It has the usual scattering of textile, rice, coffee and tea ads.

DSCN9907

DSCN9905

Not sure if that’s the Hancock of Declaration fame or not (top center of image).

DSCN9924

The Daily National Intelligencer, Tuesday, December 28, 1813 …

DSCN9925

… has this awesome advert for millinery and clothing  …

DSCN9926

… and nearby, someplace to wear your new frippery. I can hear Jane Austen characters squealing as I read this.

1

Clothe your Lilliputians at the Lilliputian Bazaar! From the New York Daily Tribune, November 9, 1887.

DSCN9914

A first-class dressmaker who comes to your home and has her own machine! Cool, right?

DSCN9922

And from another issue of The New York Tribune, 1887, this highly amusing story. I wonder if he tried it a second time!

About Amanda Goebel

I'm an Anthropology / Fashion History and Material Culture graduate from The University of Delaware, currently working on a Master's in Museum Studies. I'm a living historian interested in costume and culture from years before. I love researching the mundane and the everyday that has changed or disappeared since. I re-enact the 18th century, and I recreate clothing from that time. This blog is where I'll write about my research and projects. View all posts by Amanda Goebel

4 responses to “19th century newspapers

Leave a Reply

