The net tea gown, finished!

DSCN9595

My net tea gown is all washed, dried and steamed out, so today I got her on my mannequin. Isn’t she pretty?

DSCN9604

The lower skirt looks a lot whiter than the rest of the dress because you’re only seeing two layers of net there, and then the white petticoat I photographed it over. The rest of the dress looks yellow because you’re looking through four or more layers of net, and the white padding on the mannequin is harder to see. Im thinking of taking photos later with unbleached cotton under it, to get a more accurate color. The brighter white kind of distracts me.

Disclaimer: The skirt has a weird hitch at the left hip because of an old repair gone wrong. It left a big pucker in the inner skirt and the hemline doesn’t fall straight now.

When I first saw this dress I thought it might be early, maybe 1905-1910, but I wasn’t totally comfortable with that date range – I couldn’t find a lot of similar dresses. It looks different on a mannequin. Now I think it’s probably 1914-1917.

4x5 original

A 1917 silk chiffon and net Austrian tea gown from the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

DSCN9593

Bingo! (Cotton) net, shorter skirt, layers, somewhat fitted sleeves, and that ruffly wrap front with the same attached under-shirt.

I wish I had a parasol, white shoes and a nice hat to pair with it! It’s the perfect summer tea party dress! I don’t have those things (yet …), but I do have the coat that goes with it, and that pretty glass bead purse in my last blog post. I’ll reunite them, maybe later this week, and get some more pictures up.

About Amanda Goebel

I'm an Anthropology / Fashion History and Material Culture graduate from The University of Delaware, currently working on a Master's in Museum Studies. I'm a living historian interested in costume and culture from years before. I love researching the mundane and the everyday that has changed or disappeared since. I re-enact the 18th century, and I recreate clothing from that time. This blog is where I'll write about my research and projects. View all posts by Amanda Goebel

2 responses to “The net tea gown, finished!

  • Lady Constance

    She is lovely! How was working with the layers of net?

    • Amanda Goebel

      Thank you! The net has held up really well, but it’s inherently delicate. The worst part was when I was washing it. It looked almost clear in the water, and the layers got a little twisted. I was scared of ripping it. I wound up folding it in the water and keeping it folded up. It took over a day to dry! It turned out great, though. Wish I could say that for the coat that goes with it.

Leave a Reply

