Reticule, Part 2

Over the past few days the reticule has become fancier, and I think it can get even more fancy: I still have areas that are asking to be filled with designs. I haven’t lined it yet because I keep going back and adding stuff.

IMG_2203

Now with 78% more leaves! It’s like a folk-art weeping willow, but also like a vase full of seaweed. I added linen tassels to the drawstring ends too.

IMG_2206

I think the biggest problem is that the big chunky designs are on the flat areas, and the detailed embroidery is lost in the folds at the top. I think I can compensate by putting something detailed inside those circles.

IMG_2200

Next to an original turn-of-the-century linen purse. An illustration of how popular this simple style was. 

About Amanda Goebel

I'm an Anthropology / Fashion History and Material Culture graduate from The University of Delaware, currently working on a Master's in Museum Studies. I'm a living historian interested in costume and culture from years before. I love researching the mundane and the everyday that has changed or disappeared since. I re-enact the 18th century, and I recreate clothing from that time. This blog is where I'll write about my research and projects. View all posts by Amanda Goebel

Leave a Reply

