Some of the less common female names in America, 1640-1820

I’m still punching numbers into Excel for my female names research. I decided that because it’s taking so long to type it all up, I’ll write a post on the different, less common names I found. A lot of these names belonged to African-American slaves, who seem to have had the most different names. Some of them are from Swedish women who settled in Delaware. All of the names would have been floating around the colonies to some extent. They are preserved with their original spelling. Enjoy!

Almira

Amarilla

Aminta

Anarchy

Anika / Annikey

Annas

Ariana

Beata (Swedish)

Beck

Betheland

Beulah

Calley

Charity

Ciceley

Ciss

Clementina

Comfort

Cora (Last of The Mohicans fans: I found this name once, and it was given in 1820)

Cresey

Critty

Cudy

Cuthie

Decima

Dorcas

Dumbo (poor woman)

Ebeneezer, “Ebe” (Named after her father who died before her birth. Poor woman)

Effe

Elender

Elma Ann

Experience

Fiby

Grissel

Hagai

Hann Amer

Huldah

Ingstrom (Swedish)

Jennet / Jennette

Juliet

Lavinia

Letitia

Lettice

Lovey

Manger, “Nan”

Marde

Mayble

Mercy

Miama

Milcah

Milla

Mourning

Oney

Patheny

Persilla

Pesta

Pleasant

Providence

Prudence

Render

Rhoda

Scisley

Sebra

Secordia

Sela

Selfy

Septimia

Sidney

Sillar

Sinah

Stena

Suckey / Sukey

Tempe

Temperance

Theny

Triphene

Ursula

Winneford

Zeny

Zepporah

About Amanda Goebel

I'm an Anthropology / Fashion History and Material Culture graduate from The University of Delaware, currently working on a Master's in Museum Studies. I'm a living historian interested in costume and culture from years before. I love researching the mundane and the everyday that has changed or disappeared since. I re-enact the 18th century, and I recreate clothing from that time. This blog is where I'll write about my research and projects. View all posts by Amanda Goebel

Leave a Reply

